Saturday October 25th 2014

Archived news

IEEE UK and Ireland Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society Chapter

Hot news
Register now for the next UK and Ireland DEIS Chapter Event on DC Insulation Systems – see the Events tab for more details.
The next Chapter meeting will be at the University of Manchester on 17th September 2012 for a workshop on DC Insulation. The aim of the event is to provide a forum for discussion on the future challenges presented by our growing use of DC insulation systems. Presentations will be given by a range of speakers from both industry and academia.

Click here to download the agenda for the meeting.

The registration fee for the event is £30 – please arrive at 10am for coffee prior to a 10:30 start. To register, please contact Bernadette Bellingham at the University of Manchester prior to 3rd September 2012 to confirm your place. Once your place is confirmed, you will be able to register through the following link . For further information, or in the event of any problems, please contact Bernadette Bellingham at the University of Manchester.


The first UK and Ireland DEIS Chapter event of 2012 will be the UHVnet 2012, held this year in Leicester on the 18th and 19th January. For full information on the technical programme, click here to go to the UHVnet Website!

Who we are
DEIS is the Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society whose field of interest includes the study and application of dielectrics from the molecular level, through nano-structured materials, to insulation systems in industrial, commercial, and power system equipment, to emerging applications such as those at high power levels and in biological and other small-scale systems. DEIS supports the entire scope of this field from advancing the basic science, to enhancing the ability of practicing engineers to use emerging dielectric materials, to the development of standards for the prudent application of existing and new insulation systems. To find out more about the society, you can visit the main DEIS website.

Contact us / Committee
Chair: Prof Paul Lewin

Treasurer: Prof Alun Vaughan

Secretary: Dr James Pilgrim

GOLD/Student members: Dr Antonios Tzimas

Ordinary Member: Prof Simon Rowland